Sending invitations is the primary method of making connections on LinkedIn. When someone sends an invitation to another LinkedIn user, and the recipient accepts it, they become 1st-degree connections. If the person receiving the invitation is not yet on LinkedIn, they will be prompted to become a LinkedIn member. Once they join LinkedIn, they will be able to accept the invitation. Each new connection expands the user’s network, which is a goal for sales teams, job seekers, and businesses alike.
However, not all invitations are accepted right away. Sometimes people are hesitant to add people they don’t know, which is why it is a good rule of thumb to only send connection requests to members who are likely to accept the invitation. Sometimes invitations aren’t accepted simply because the person hasn’t logged back in and they haven’t seen it. Many LinkedIn users want to know when invitations expire. Here we take a closer look.
Expiration of Invitations
Invitations sent to existing LinkedIn members expire after six months. This also applies to invitations sent to people who are not on LinkedIn. This timeframe allows LinkedIn to occasionally remove old invitations from the database for email addresses that don’t appear to be active. LinkedIn sends two reminders to the recipient before the invitation expires, reminding them that they have not yet responded.
The intention behind sending reminders is to let users know about the invitation in case they overlooked the original message. If the member archives or replies to the invitation, the reminders automatically stop.
However, if an invitation does expire, they will no longer be displayed as a pending invitation. The sender is still allowed to send a new invitation to that same person once the original invitation has expired. It is also possible to withdraw the original invitation.
Sending LinkedIn Invitations
Sending an invitation to connect is the best way to ask someone to join your professional network. If they accept, then they will become a 1st-degree connection. LinkedIn recommends only inviting people you know and trust. This is because 1st-degree connections are given access to all information displayed on your profile. That said, LinkedIn invitations are effective for connecting with colleagues, recruiters and new, professional opportunities.
Invitations can be sent from a member’s profile by clicking the Connect button on their profile page. It can also be done through the search results page by clicking Connect on the right hand side of the member’s information.
The My Network page also allows you to send invitations. If you have any pending invitations, they will be displayed near the top of the page. The Grow Your Network page lets users search their email address book to find contacts or invite them through their email address.
Finally, the People You May Know feature can also be used to send invitations by clicking the Connect button below the member’s name. Users may also send invitations using the LinkedIn mobile website and app.
Withdrawing an Invitation
It is not necessary to wait for the original invitation to expire. If you change your mind about an invitation, LinkedIn allows users to withdraw invitations. Use the My network page to see all sent invitations and withdraw any that are still waiting for a response from the recipient. It is possible to withdraw invitations as long as the recipient has not yet taken any action on the request. Take note that after withdrawing an invitation, you will not be allowed to resend an invite to the same person for up to three weeks.